Thanks. And stuff.

26 Nov

So the family is here. Most of them are still sleeping and likely will be until I pull a turkey from the oven a little later on this afternoon.  Whatever.

This year I’m thankful for my husband, who keeps me sane. I’m thankful for my dog, who makes me laugh. I’m thankful for my home, which keeps me grounded. I’m thankful for my job, which keeps me in my house and allows me to eat delicious nomnoms. I’m thankful for the last few days of fall, for the hope of tomorrow, for good hair days and lazy Sunday afternoons.

I’m thankful for hot coffee on cold days, and cold sweet tea on hot days. I’m thankful for my crazy city with all it’s craziness and hidden goodness. I’m thankful for the radio, for music that makes me cry and laugh and dance. I’m thankful for books that open my world up. I’m thankful for friends, both the ones I’ve met on the internets and the ones I know in real life. I’m thankful for wine and chocolate and good pens.

I’m thankful for the neighborhood kitties who drive my dog insane. I’m thankful that I get the chance to cook a turkey this year. I’m thankful for the family the Army has given me. I’m thankful for starry nights and wool blankets. I’m thankful for bright red toenails, warm sweaters, comfy chairs, and deviled eggs.

I’m thankful for life this year and for all the plans for next year.

Thank you.

4 Responses to “Thanks. And stuff.”

  1. Margaret November 26, 2009 at 1:39 PM #

    Great Thanksgiving list.
    I will add that I’m Thankful for God in my life, without whom I’d not be able to function. Thankful for my daughters and granddaughters and my granddogs too.

    Blessings to all

  2. san November 26, 2009 at 3:50 PM #

    Happy Thanksgiving and have a wonderful time with your family!

  3. CuppyCakes November 27, 2009 at 3:28 AM #

    I’m kind of sad that we don’t celebrate thanksgiving in australia. it totally would’ve been nice to eat some turkey today and reflect.
    I like your list. I especially agree with the ‘good hair days’ one. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2009: A Time to Nestle « questionable rationale - January 1, 2010

    […] I should never have let her stay for as long as she did.  I discovered some goats. And a donkey. I hosted Thanksgiving for my family, something else I will probably never do […]

Leave a Reply

