The end of my 101 in 1001

28 Nov

Thanksgiving Day was the very last day of my 101 in 1001 challenge.  My time is up.  I completed 82.1% of my tasks.

It’s amazing how different things are now.  I didn’t know what the hell life was going to be like in 1001 days when I started the challenge, but the good news is that I’m very happy with what my life is like now.

In completing my first 101 in 1001 challenge, I feel compelled to provide some tips, or some lessons learned.

  1. Make the goals attainable. Sure, you might want to visit 4 countries and 19 states and adopt 16 puppies while ending world hunger, but chances are, it ain’t gonna happen in 1001.  Unless you are some sort of trust fund baby, making half your goals about travel, or about purchasing expensive things, or about totally changing your lifestyle, will only result in frustration and failure. Ave those things for your bucket list.
  2. Make sure you want to achieve your goals. Once you write down your first 88 goals, you start to get a little desperate. So you pull shit from a hat instead of really thinking about what you’d like to accomplish. Don’t do that. It will only piss you off in the end.
  3. Leave a few goals blank. Let yourself develop goals as you progress.
  4. Don’t beat yourself up if your goals change over time. I really thought, 1001 days ago, that I wanted to get another tattoo.  But, as it turns out, I don’t.  I realize now, I should have just gone ahead and excused myself from that goal and plugged in a new one rather than allowing myself to fail.
  5. Don’t spell the word “veggie” like “vegie.”
  6. Put some short-term stuff on your list. Try to think over what the next 1001 days will hold for you and write ten or so goals for each quarter of the challenge.  That includes the current quarter, the foreseeable future. So, if you have shelves you’ve been meaning to put up for the past six months, go ahead and put that on your list.  Who knows? Maybe putting something so mundane on your list will jump start your motivation.
  7. Don’t put something on your list that you have to do every single day, unless it’s something easy like breathing, or drinking some liquids, or sleeping. Things change. Life changes. Relationships start and end. The likelihood that you’re going to do yoga every day for 1001 days, or drink 8 glasses of water, or read the news, or read 10 pages from a book, is slim to none.
  8. Print your list out and carry it with you. Read it when you’re riding the bus, or waiting for someone, or whenever you have a free moment. Look over what you’ve accomplished, and what you have yet to accomplish. This will help you know your list inside and out and will allow you to always have your goals in mind. After a while, you won’t need the list because you’ll have it memorized.
  9. If there is one crazy thing you want to put on there that you don’t think will happen, go for it. Don’t compile a whole list of these things, but do put that one, seemingly impossible, goal on your list. When I made my list, I didn’t think there was a chance in hell I would be in a position to buy a house within 1001 days, but it happened.
  10. Do expand your point of view. Use your list as a jumping off point for experiencing different cultures, different places & different points of view. Always wanted to try yoga? Put it on your list. Wondered what the difference between a Lutheran & a Baptist is? Put it on your list! Always wanted to attend the opera? Put it on your list. Look around your town, or city, or state and see what’s available. Chances are, life chancing experiences are right in your backyard.
  11. Do it again! If you don’t accomplish every thing the first time, do it again. It’s that easy.

Speaking of doing it again…I working on my 101 in 1001: Part the Second right now….stay tuned…

3 Responses to “The end of my 101 in 1001”

  1. Margaret November 28, 2009 at 7:00 PM #

    Dearest Terra,

    You continue to be an exquisite writer. You’ve matured, found out what matters, challenge us ~ in a good way ~

    My Mom was always a list maker. I am too. It’s so satisfying to scratch something off. I also reset my priorities throughout the day. If I’m weary, upset, etc., I’ll only take care of what’s necessary for the day.

    I don’t have a travel bug ~ embarrassed to say the few places I’ve been ~ but I LOVE to read. I like thrillers – especially those that are similar to Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan stories, but I Love non-fiction too. There’s so much to learn and I’m fascinated by people and medicine and the mind/body connection.

    One goal I have is that I’m looking forward to the Library in Heaven, with all eternity to read the books I haven’t gotten to yet.

    My crazy goal will not happen, but we can always anticipate being Surprised by JOY

  2. Margaret November 29, 2009 at 1:38 PM #

    I hope you’re keeping a permanent copy of your writings. The younger people in your family should be able to read about you and what an awesome woman you are.

  3. H to the Izzo November 30, 2009 at 1:56 PM #

    I’ve never been one to list life goals like this (though I do love lists) but reading your tips about what you discovered after having done this makes me wonder if I shouldn’t start something like this. I especially like the idea of whipping out the list while waiting in line, to evaluate constantly what you want, and more importantly, make sure you’re getting it.

    I live very comfortably in the present and the near-future. It’s ickier for me to plan this far ahead, but that’s the point, right?

    Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

