2009: A Time to Nestle

1 Jan

If 2008 was the year of big, big changes, then 2009 was all about digging in, getting comfortable,  and getting accustomed to the life I’ve carved out for myself. It was kinda nice. After a few years of bouncing all around, it was nice to settle, to finally have a home that’s really mine, and to carve out a little life for myself.

In January, I was on duty for the Inauguration.  It was an experience I will never forget; one that filled me with absolute pride and one that reignited my love in America. The day after we got home from the nation’s capital, we packed up all our  stuff and moved across town to our house. After over a month and a half of homeownership, we finally spent our first night our home.

February we unpacked our piles of stuff and lived amidst a mess.  We continued work and begin to realize yes, we can work together every day and not kill each other.  I reestablished my hatred for Valentine’s Day.

In March, it snowed more than I ever remember it snowing in Richmond. But just like that, it was gone. I turned 25 and, for the first time in almost a decade, I didn’t want to ignore my birthday. In one of my most crunchy moments, we bought a reel lawnmower.

In April, I remembered a friend’s suicide, as I have every year for the past nine years.  We got a few steps closer to having an actual living room, but it still wasn’t quite finished.  We went to the Outer Banks for a much-needed vacation.  Then, there were the baby robins, and, of course, the baby rats I couldn’t save.

May was a busy month. We planted a peach tree named Clara and finally quit smoking.  Then we planted a garden full of sweet-smelling herbs and promising veggies. I celebrated my first six-year term in the military, an event that made me realize how far I’d come in those six years.

Some of very good friends got married in June. The happy couple were our first house guests the week before their wedding and, luckily, my sunburned forehead cleared up just in time for the wedding photos.

In July, we went to Wisconsin for work and every one thought I was a bad woman for keeping my last name.  I tried Pilates for the first time and fell in loooove.

In August, we finally got the living room put together.  After only, oh…8 months of living here.  I was able to have an absolutely AMAZING reunion with a long-lost friend and learned that even though things might change, they don’t change so much that you can’t get back what you once had.  Then, I went back to college and after WAY TOO LONG. Oh, and I learned the friend I let into my house was a useless sexist. That was about as fun as it sounds…

September was a month of firsts seeing as we went to San Francisco and I set foot on the West Coast for the first time ever. Then, I got food poisoning for the first (and hopefully the last) time.

In October, we learned that I’m just not like other people, which I guess I always knew anyway, but still. It’s nice when people remind me. We went to the beach again, for a tension filled weekend that ended perfectly. We went to the Celtic Festival and had all sorts of fun as zombies.  Then, Andrew got one step closer to 30, and turned 29 and we had a big ole’ Halloween bash to celebrate.

I wrote every single day in November, something I will probably never do again.  The sexist friend finally (FINALLY!!) moved out and I realized I should never have let her stay for as long as she did.  I discovered some goats. And a donkey. I hosted Thanksgiving for my family, something else I will probably never do again.

In December,  I started my second 101 in 1001 challenge, got unfriended on Facebook and went to Michigan for Christmas.  Then, I got the worst cold ever.

Now, it’s 2010, and I’m still sick.  Still in my pjs. But you know, I started 2009 with a wicked cold too and it turned out to be a pretty bad ass year, so here’s hoping 2010 is just as fabulous.

5 Responses to “2009: A Time to Nestle”

  1. barbetti January 1, 2010 at 8:01 PM #

    Love that you recapped all those posts and I totally loved your living room! Hope you start to feel better soon! Happy New Year!

  2. Alverna January 2, 2010 at 1:11 AM #

    I hope you feel better soon!!

  3. CuppyCakes January 2, 2010 at 5:03 AM #

    I started 2010 with Glandular Fever/Mono… what do you have?
    I hope it’s a kick ass year for all of us.

  4. Jonathan January 3, 2010 at 9:28 AM #

    Writing every day for a month was a damn fool idea lol – I did it too (well… nearly – I missed one day).

    Happy New Year!

  5. kelliebuelo January 4, 2010 at 12:23 AM #

    Great recap. When listed out like that, life really is pretty eventful isn’t it? Happy 2010! Keep up the great musings on life!

Leave a Reply

