Unmotivated, hybernation & winter overload

13 Jan

Argue for your limitations, and sure enough, they’re yours. — Richard Bach, Illusions

Winter. I’m not so much a fan.  I always think it will be a great idea to escape the heat and humidity and snuggle down for a few months, but sure enough, once the first frost hits, I’m over it. SO over it. Plus, this winter has been colder and frostier than any other winter I’ve experienced in Richmond.  I’m used to highs in the 40s, lows in the 30s, with some occasional flurries. This winter has been all about below freezing temps, something I’m totally not used to anymore.

I’m finding it hard to get motivated. Hard to eat anything that doesn’t come from Taco Bell or that contains chocolate. Hard to stay awake until 9 PM. I just want to hibernate. I want to curl up and sleep until winter is over and flowers start to bloom. I want to wrap myself in blankets, park my growing ass in front of the heater and stare at the TV until it’s warm enough to play outside. I want to eat cupcakes and drink hot chocolate and not worry about how much winter weight I gain or how out of shape I become. Truthfully, I don’t really want to do anything. Except for nap. And eat. And snuggle with SadieMutt.

6 Responses to “Unmotivated, hybernation & winter overload”

  1. H to the Izzo January 13, 2010 at 10:27 PM #

    So the Seasonal Affective Disorder has gotten to you too, eh? Let’s do all those things Saturday night?

  2. CuppyCakes January 13, 2010 at 11:12 PM #

    I hate winter too. It’s summer here and is currently about 25 celcius.. this just won’t do.

  3. san January 14, 2010 at 1:32 PM #

    I like the winter. I think you can only appreciate the summer, if you have to endure the winter 🙂 But soon it will be spring. Hang in there 🙂

  4. Jamie January 15, 2010 at 11:37 PM #

    I always say I hibernate in winter too. I can’t deal with the cold. It’s way too hard to get out of bed when its cold and I have a cuddly puppy with me!

  5. Alverna January 18, 2010 at 10:49 PM #

    Amen sista. And it’s worse here. This weekend is the first time we’ve been above freezing since Christmas.

  6. callmekp January 20, 2010 at 4:32 PM #

    Everything about what you’ve described sounds like heaven. Warm, lazy, wonderful heaven. I may take your advice and call it a day. Go home. Find some cheese. And just play the entire 30 Rock series on loop. Good thinking!

Leave a Reply

