Inauguration: The Virginia Edition

18 Jan

On Saturday, Virginia got a new governor.  Seeing as the Virginia National Guard belongs to the governor of Virginia, and seeing as how I’m part of the Virginia National Guard, I was there, running around on the capitol grounds with my all-access badge and my camera equipment.  It was pretty nifty.

I was there for President Obama’s Inauguration, and didn’t really know what to expect from a gubernatorial inauguration.  Obviously, it wasn’t quite as grand, or as crazy, or a big, but it was still pretty neat. The day went quick and it was warm enough to go without a jacket, unlike the Presidential Inauguration last year which was crazy cold and required me to wake up at 5 AM and walk two miles across the nation’s capitol.

The best part about being an the Gubernatorial Inauguration? Getting to watch the parade, and this:

The new governor, Gov. Bob McDonnell, is the one in the suit. I’m the one in the poorly drawn circle. Just in case you couldn’t figure that one out.

My boss took this photo, but lo and behold, it showed up on the Bob McDonnell website.  It made me feel a little like a rock star, and a little like an asshole for being in the shot.  But then I realized I don’t really care.

**More photos from the event, taken by my co-workers, are here.
2 Responses to “Inauguration: The Virginia Edition”

  1. H to the Izzo January 19, 2010 at 11:26 AM #

    I at first thought that was Andrew with them. It looks like he’s handing them a mortar, what IS that?

  2. Andrea January 22, 2010 at 12:27 AM #

    That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

