Haiti, Blogger Love & Sharing is Caring

20 Jan

I’ve been busy. Really busy.  And happy too.  But I’ll tell you about that later.  I’ve got other things on my mind today.

First, there’s the earthquake in Haiti, which has stayed in the headlines, breaking my heart a little more every day.  When we got word that National Guard troops were going down to Haiti to aid in recovery efforts, I jumped up and down and begged to go. For the time being though, the Virginia Guard hasn’t been tasked with any missions to Haiti that I know of, so it doesn’t look like I’ll be headed to Haiti anytime soon, but my name’s on the list to go if something were to come up.

So.  Since I can’t be there to help, I’m donating.  $50 to the American Red Cross.  It might not be a lot in the grand scheme of things. In terms of devastation, the figures are higher than I can count, but it’s something. And I think that’s the important part.

Second, some amazing things happened on the internet today.  I followed along on twitter from the car coming back from DC as blogger after blogger after blogger donated money and blog space for a great cause.  It was beautiful. Amazing. And I can’t sit it out.

Basically, this is what’s going on:

Our Plea

Our friend Brandy is a brilliant writer, a wonderful teacher, and a generous friend.  And she is in love with a man who has just been diagnosed with multiple myeloma.

We are raising money for the Multiple Myeloma Research Fund in his name.  For the price of a cinnamon dolce latte, half-caf, hold the whip, you can be part of an effort to cure a disease that affects approximately 750,000 people worldwide.

http://www.loveharder.org

Every dollar brings us a dollar closer to a cure.  And every donation brings a sliver of hope to a girl who needs all the hope she can get.

I’ve only been reading Brandy’s blog for a little bit, but I love it and when the community rises up and provides a shoulder to lean on, I just have to partake.

So I donated $50 to this cause as well, because even though the goal was met within just an hour, I’d like to see the goal doubled, and maybe even tripled.

So yeah. Sharing is Caring. Donate what you can, whether it be dollar bills, or warm thoughts, or soft kittens, or prayers, or hugs and kisses.

2 Responses to “Haiti, Blogger Love & Sharing is Caring”

  1. Margaret January 21, 2010 at 3:10 PM #

    Yes, Yes, Yes,…we all can do something; it all helps, and we need to pray for these people also and for those that are reporting or helping in any way. Hugs, M

  2. rachel January 21, 2010 at 5:39 PM #

    i really wanted to go to haiti and help, do something… i feel so helpless.

    and thank you for reposting for love harder. we’re just $600 away from TRIPLING our original goal. i can’t believe it.

Leave a Reply

