Vacation (Light): 24 Hours in DC

22 Jan

Andrew and I are weird, I guess. We don’t do a lot of things other couples do.  We’re rebels like that. Or maybe I’m just a smart-ass sociologically-aware feminist who won’t be put down by the Man. Or maybe it’s both. Either way, we don’t do a lot of the things you’re supposed to do. I didn’t change my name. There wasn’t a proposal or an engagement ring. We don’t exchange Christmas presents.  And we didn’t exchange anniversary gifts, partly because we just don’t fucking care, and partly because, traditionally speaking, the gift for Anniversary Number 2 is cotton and really, I have enough towels thankyouverymuch!

That said, we didn’t want to let the start of our third year together go totally unnoticed. So, instead of spending yet another special occasion at home staring at each other, we hit the road for Washington, DC on Tuesday, which really isn’t like a vacation because Andrew and I both used to live up there, but still. The Detroit Redwings were playing the Washington Capitals and since Andrew’s from Detroit and loves hockey and since I just plain love hockey (seeing a Redwings game is #50 on my 101 in 1001 list) and will jump at any excuse to take anything even remotely looking like a vacation, we went.

First order of business was checking out a Smithsonian museum (#81 on my 101 in 1001 list). I love all the museums, partly because they’re free, and partly because I’ve grown up visiting them, and partly because I am 74.8% absolute nerd. So we went, by metro, and I realized how much I missed the metro after years and years of not riding it and how much I love DC and all of it’s bigness and littleness and oldness.

We picked the National Museum of American History to visit because it’s wasn’t the Air and Space Museum or the Museum of Natural History (both of which we’ve been too several bazillion times) and because it was easy to get to and because we passed it on the way in and both decided, on the spot, that it was the place to go.

After hopping back on the metro to swing by our hotel to rest our tired toes and relax a bit, we headed back out for some hockey.  Andrew, being from Detroit and generally a damn Yankee all around, loves hockey and, back in the time before my fair city lost all of it’s minor league sports teams in one year, we used to go to hockey games several times a month and way back when, in the before times, I learned that hockey is awesome because you can totally get away with yelling obscenities, jumping up and down, drinking beer, eating junk food and trash talking the opposing team and so, I LOVE hockey.  Plus, there’s the added perk of occasional on-the-ice violence and really, what could be better than violence, trash-talking, beers and yelling when you’re stressed out? That’s right. Absolutely nothing.

I, being a huge failure, took precisely no photos while at the game and thus have no proof of anything that happened there.  Basically, we were happy because HOCKEY! YAY! and even though the Redwings lost to the Capitals, we could really care less because we’re Caps fans when the Redwings aren’t in town.  Also, Andrew, being some sort of traitor, bought a Caps shirt and put it on after the game.  I did take a picture of that, but only because he handed me his blackberry and said I had to.

After the game, we packed ourselves onto the metro and headed to Dupont so I could meet up with a friend I haven’t seen since before I deployed to Kosovo, which, for any of you who lost count, was a very long time ago indeed. Like 3 1/2 years ago or something ridiculous like that.

As I suspected, we are still best friends.  Just best friends who lost touch for way too long but who continue to love and know each other.  Changes be damned, we’re still mostly the same people we were before, at least in regards to what we care about and what we stand for and really, what the hell else matters?

If I’ve to be honest, which I should be, I’ve been hardcore craving time with old friends of the female nature because, as great as my guy friends are, and as much as I love the lady friends I’m slowly but surely making in Richmond, it’s nice to sit down with someone who knew me when I was 17, cried a lot, dated horrible boys and wrote angsty poetry and doesn’t hold it against me (much). Also, friends like this one come around once in a lifetime and I’ll be damned if I’m willing to let that slip away.

For anyone counting, this is Best Friend of Yesteryear Reunion #2 since August (here’s the other one).  YAY!

7 Responses to “Vacation (Light): 24 Hours in DC”

  1. H to the Izzo January 22, 2010 at 3:39 PM #

    I love DC! You are correct in noting both its smallness and bigness–that’s one of the things I like about it.

    Let’s do a road trip to DC when its warm again. My best and longest friend (also Tara!) lives there and I don’t see her enough either.

  2. san January 22, 2010 at 6:11 PM #

    Sounds like a lovely trip! I haven’t been to DC.

    Glad you had such a great time with an old friend as well!

  3. Margaret January 22, 2010 at 6:22 PM #

    One advantage of Winter…Dates with Hubs ~ rather than thinking you should cut the grass or pull weeds from your garden.

  4. emiliemarie January 23, 2010 at 8:44 AM #

    I really like your photos! DC is so much fun. Well, I haven’t been since I was in high school, but I really enjoyed it then. When I have the money and time I would love to go back.

  5. Gooseberried January 23, 2010 at 5:51 PM #

    Love the shoes photo!

    I’m like that too. I hate being all gushy and mushy for what feels like no reason. It’s like those people who’ve been dating for six months and actually celebrate it. It’s like…um…so?

  6. barbetti January 23, 2010 at 10:19 PM #

    Steve will be in Iraq for our second wedding anniversary and has already told me that the “cotton” I’ll be receiving is some kind of tampon. We’re romantic.

    And LOOOOOOOVE the photos. I came THISCLOSE to buying one last weekend, it was on RIDICULOUS sale (two lenses and body for $300) but I had to reign myself in. Looking at your photos is making me kick myself, though. Boo.

  7. CuppyCakes January 24, 2010 at 2:41 AM #

    I loved DC. It was the only place it REALLY rained the whole time I was in the states, and it was hilarious fun running around to all the momuments in a torential downpour.

    That museum was closed when we were there… which made me sad. It was the one I most wanted to see.

Leave a Reply

