Snow, snow, snow, HuskyMutt & embracing my inner child

2 Feb

So, I live in Virginia. Richmond, Virginia.  Which, as far as I’m concerned, counts as the South.  We don’t usually get much snow.  I can easily remember whole winters sliding by with mere. But this year…this year is different.  We had a great big snow dump in December, just before Christmas, and I figured that would be it in terms of a BIG SNOW DUMP for the winter.  I enjoyed it while I could.  Andrew made a snow man. We went for a walk in the snow. We threw snowballs at the dog.  It was lovely. I was a little sad to see it go.

Then, this past Saturday, it snowed again.  A lot.  I thought we’d get a few inches – nothing too extreme.  And then we got at least 10 inches dumped on us and I’m a little shocked.  Happy, mostly, because I love snow and because my classes were cancelled last night.  But still, it’s all a little weird. 

Weirder still, it’s supposed to dump freezing rain on us today and then there is even more snow heading toward us for this weekend and I’ve got to say I’m getting a little sick of it.  I mean, really.  I love Virginia because it doesn’t get that much snow, because we’re plagued by streets lined with piles of brown, yucky snow all year-round. 

Still though, we decided to enjoy the snow.  The dog, being of the HuskyMutt persuasion, was thrilled.

She played and romped in the snow. Stared at the sky, searching for squirrels, chomped on a few snow balls, and, when she was all worn out, came inside for snuggle time.

Once we mustered up the energy to shovel our walkway and the sidewalk in front of our house (after two people came to the door offering to do it for us for some money), we went for walk. Dog loved it and honed her ability to drag Andrew down the street while he slides on the icy roads.  How they both made it home in one piece is beyond me.

After the walk, I embraced my inner child.

I made an itty bitty snow man, and then, because I haven’t done it in years an years and years and years, I made a snow angel. 

The End!

10 Responses to “Snow, snow, snow, HuskyMutt & embracing my inner child”

  1. Kyla Roma February 2, 2010 at 11:37 AM #

    Oh beautiful! The only good thing about it being so cold up here is that unless its warm it can’t snow, so we don’t get pummeled too often =)

    Of course the downside is that it gets to be -30 F and we still don’t get snow days!! lol

  2. san February 2, 2010 at 1:22 PM #

    To be honest, I am all sorts of jealous! 🙂

  3. chasingparadise February 2, 2010 at 2:10 PM #

    My husband tells me we got about 8 inches, and I’m a little farther north than Richmond. But I was surprised to come to work yesterday morning and find that Richmond hadn’t done a stellar job of plowing downtown. It’s a yucky, ugly mess!

    As for the snow coming this weekend, hoooooly crap. I’ve heard everything from 5 – 30 inches. Seriously.

    Your dog is beautiful. We have a husky too…and he is a freak about the snow! He can’t play in it long enough.

  4. Margaret February 2, 2010 at 2:40 PM #

    You know how to live. I think you carpe diem every day. Love the pics. Don’t ever grow up, we always need to play and make snow men and snow angels.

  5. emiliemarie February 2, 2010 at 8:39 PM #

    My boss came into my office yesterday and told us that she heard Richmond (where one of our offices is located) got ten inches. I thought of you when she said that!

    Personally, I hate snow. We usually get so much of it – sometimes we get multiple storms in a week’s time. This year we’ve been spared – just two or three real snowstorms so far, knock on wood. Compared to last winter this is nothing. I hate, HATE cold weather and I hate what snow does to drivers…so many unnecessary accident. Give me a hot summer day anytime!

  6. Suburban Sweetheart February 3, 2010 at 1:07 AM #

    CUTEST DOG EVER. Seriously.

    I’m up in DC (weird to say “up,” as I’m from Ohio & typically refer to it as “down”) and I’m SO excited that we’re getting some snow. I really love & miss it & hope tomorrow sees me doing some snow angels, too!

  7. CuppyCakes February 3, 2010 at 1:56 AM #

    I love the idea of snow… just not the concept of it. I struggle in the cold weather like nothing else.
    But I am secretly hoping for a wee bit of flurries while I’m in Europe later this year.

  8. H to the Izzo February 3, 2010 at 3:34 PM #

    I love snow and am not at all sick of it yet. I hadn’t used my car in the last 4 days and that was just fine (love the city-living). I have not gone sledding at ALL though and am really sad about that. 1) I don’t have a sled, or anything like one really and 2)I never have anyone who wants to go with me. If it snows this weekend, I”m going sledding, damnit.

    I also have to buy a shovel.

  9. Margaret February 6, 2010 at 1:01 PM #

    Thanks for Serving in this BIG snowstorm. Be careful out there.

  10. Margaret February 7, 2010 at 5:52 PM #

    Sleep well tonight.

    There’s more snow coming.

Leave a Reply

