Kicking, Screaming and Stressing the Little Things

16 Feb

Yesterday was the last day off I’ll have until March. And even then, I’m not sure when in March. I’m getting a little flustered.  I’m trying to remind myself to take deep breaths and relax, but that’s really, really, really difficult.

First, school is a pain in the ass this semester. I am in love with my Religions of the World class. It is the bomb diggity. For reals. But then there’s this Intro to Anthropology class I’m taking. I know. It sounds like it would be a cake walk. Except that it’s not. I am very, very close to officially being a senior (finally). I have taken all sorts of upper level anthropology/sociology classes seeing as I am, in fact, a sociology major. So, I have some experience with the topic. But this class – this god forsaken intro class – is evil. We have to read no less than 100 pages each week, for AN INTRO CLASS. Meanwhile, if my upper level religion class assigns me any reading, it’s likely well under 25 pages. Then there’s the pop quizzes – which are bullshit and something I only thought existed in the movies! I know I sound a bit dramatic, but trust me – this class is brutal. I took an advanced sociology/anthropology class called The Family a few years ago. We had to learn about 2 or 3 different kinship systems. In my Intro to Anthroplogy class? Yeah…we have to learn 5. BECAUSE THE PROFESSOR IS THE ANTI-CHRIST!!!

Ahem…Any-nee-way…moving on.

There’s also the house. It’s a disaster. Kind of. We’re not really messy people but when we don’t have time to clean, like, ever, then things start to pile up. Dog fur starts to take over the corners. Dishes tend to stay in the sink for just a little bit too long because, when you only seem to get one weekend off a month, all you want to do on that one weekend is have fun. Hang out with your friends. Take naps. Catch up on your 98% full DVR.

So we’re thinking about hiring a maid.

There. I said it. It sounds ridiculous, right? Why the fuck would I need a maid? I’m 25 and young and blah blah blah. But really, my time is valuable and I’m tired of spending the only time off I have emptying trash cans, trying to get my stainless steel appliances to be smudge-less, and sweeping up the dog-fur tumbleweeds. Plus, I SUCK (ABSOLUTELY SUCK) at remembering to dust the (6!!) ceiling fans in the house. And I can’t ever get my stainless steel appliances to be smudge-less so I might as well just leave it to a professional, right?

Finally, there’s the working out and the body image bullshit that’s been weighing on my mind a lot lately. But really, that’s a whole other post all on it’s own.

Deep breaths, right? That’s what I need to take? And maybe add in some yoga to my work out routine?

9 Responses to “Kicking, Screaming and Stressing the Little Things”

  1. StaceyParadise February 16, 2010 at 11:55 AM #

    If YOU’RE ridiculous for wanting to hire a maid, well then…we’re a club of 2. Billy and I have been considering it because even though we have all weekends off, we’re still pretty busy and I hate spending HOURS of my weekend cleaning our house. You suffer the husky fur build-up like we do, and seriously, that is enough to make it insane.

  2. san February 16, 2010 at 1:51 PM #

    You’re NOT ridiculous for wanting to hire a maid. I can totally understand that with all the stuff you have going on, cleaning is the lowest priority on your list. However, it needs to get done. Why not pay someone for it?!

    Exactly.

  3. Margaret February 16, 2010 at 1:53 PM #

    YES, hire some cleaning help. Smart thing to do. Your time at home should be for fun and stuff.

  4. barbetti February 16, 2010 at 7:41 PM #

    There is NOTHING wrong with wanting to hire a maid, especially with as busy as you are. A few years ago, I hired one at $50/month who came in once every other week and SAVED MY LIFE. No really. The stuff I didn’t seem to have the time to get to (bathroom floors, showers, dusting, mopping, toilets, windows). Well worth the money. Do it!

  5. Alverna February 16, 2010 at 9:30 PM #

    Do it. (The hiring a maid bit.)

    And don’t forget that you’re absolutely amazing. Getting a little overwhelmed doesn’t change that a bit, it just means that you’re human.

    I have fur dust bunnies, a full laundry hamper, dirty toilet, slight backlog of dirty dishes, and a huge deficit of motivation. It’s OK. I’m trying to just go with it.

  6. kelliebuelo February 16, 2010 at 10:48 PM #

    something’s gotta give and we can’t do it all ALL the time! i fully endorse the decision. 😉 good luck to ya!

  7. Jamie February 19, 2010 at 12:47 PM #

    That class sounds killer. And I’d totally hire a maid. DO IT.

  8. Margaret February 21, 2010 at 8:22 PM #

    Praying for SaidieGirl. M

  9. Margaret February 22, 2010 at 11:07 AM #

    Thanks for the good news.

Leave a Reply

