February. Still the shortest month.

28 Feb

What the hell happened? I know it’s a short month, but damn! February seems to be over before it ever really got started and here I am staring down into the pit of March and looking into the barrel of turning 26 (eek!). I’m a little taken aback. I know it’s a few days short of all those other longer months, but still.  It went too quick.

Highlights

– It snowed. A lot. And I had to work.
– School sucked a little and rocked a little.
– We paid for our trip to Alaska that’s coming up in May.
– We got serious about getting back in shape and eating better food.
– SadieDog got sickity sick sick, cost us a ton of hard earned cash and still refuses to get off the couch a get a job.
– I decided to take the plunge and set a date for LASIK eye surgery in March.
– We bought a lot of wine from Trader Joe’s.
– We didn’t watch the Olympics.
– The neighbors threw some trash in our yard. Because they are assholes. We threw the trash back in their yard. We’re assholes too.
– I flew on a Black Hawk helicopter, hopped on a military air plane, flew to Mississippi for two hours, flew home and promptly passed the eff out. Longest day ever.

To-Do Recap

  1. Go see a movie. – SUCCESS! Along with a group of friends, we went and saw the Wolfman. It was predictable, poorly acted, dark and dreary and just plain lame.
  2. Do nothing to celebrate Valentine’s Day. – SUCCESS! We went grocery shopping. That’s it. I just don’t do Valentine’s Day. I did, however, raid Walgreens on Feb. 15th for leftover candy.
  3. Cross something off my 101 in 1001 list. – FAIL! This is a technical fail. I didn’t cross anything off, but I did get closer to crossing things off.  That counts for something, right?
  4. File my taxes. – FAIL! I tried. I really did.  But you know what? I own a house. We have jobs. And it’s difficult. And so, we’re probably just going to have someone do them for us.
  5. Run 3 times each week. – FAIL! I came very, very close.  The weeks I didn’t run three times, I ran two.
  6. Bake something. – Again, FAIL! I had high hopes for this one but working for two of the four weekends of the month, trying to get caught up on all the stupid reading my Anthropology class requires of me and there just wasn’t time for it. Maybe next month?
2 Responses to “February. Still the shortest month.”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart February 28, 2010 at 11:19 PM #

    Lots of time to bake and run in March & all 31 of its days. Better luck!

  2. CuppyCakes March 1, 2010 at 2:58 AM #

    maybe you can bake while you are recovering from the laser-eyes?

    ITS YOUR BIRTHDAY IN MARCH. I only like v-day candy for the candy hearts I can get from my supermarket for $1.20. I once ate two packs in a day and I’m pretty sure I got a cavity from it.

Leave a Reply

