Video Killed the Radio Star (and ate my soul)

15 Apr

I think I’ve mentioned before that I work for the National Guard. I’m not sure how much detail I’ve given out, but, for the most part, I work behind a camera shooting video and putting video news packages together on various events our Soldiers are doing across the state. I shoot the video, voice the video, and edit the video, but it’s rare that I ever set foot in front of the camera. 

Then, the Nuclear Security Summit came to our nation’s capitol and we had Virginia Soldiers up there doing some nifty stuff and someone decided I better get my ass in front of a camera to talk about it. So I did. Even though I hate, hate, hate being in front a camera.

Here’s the finished product, which is up on the National Guard website today.

What do you think? I think I look like a nerd to the nth degree, but others say it’s not so bad. I remain unconvinced.

10 Responses to “Video Killed the Radio Star (and ate my soul)”

  1. H to the Izzo April 15, 2010 at 3:55 PM #

    you look so different with your hair pulled all the way back like that!

  2. Julia April 15, 2010 at 4:21 PM #

    based on your blog picture, i would have never recognized you! and no, you didn’t look nerdy at all! but rather like a professional news reporter! 🙂

  3. Terra April 15, 2010 at 4:36 PM #

    It’s so funny that you both mention that – people who know me as Army Terra, rarely recognize me when I’m in civilian attire with my hair down and vice versa. It’s like I’m 2 totally different people.

  4. Margaret April 15, 2010 at 5:27 PM #

    PERFECT, I’m impressed 🙂

  5. StaceyParadise April 16, 2010 at 8:53 AM #

    You are so not a nerd! You did a great job speaking in front of the camera. You could have gone into Broadcast! 🙂

  6. Rachel April 16, 2010 at 9:42 AM #

    i think you’re adorable. 🙂

  7. Mom April 16, 2010 at 4:26 PM #

    I think you look great, and not at all nerdy! I’m so proud of you! You could certainly be in front of the camera much more often,t. You’ve always had a great “stage presence.”

  8. CuppyCakes April 18, 2010 at 3:58 AM #

    Well, I was dazzled. Stop being so awesome….

  9. kindnessgirl April 21, 2010 at 11:00 AM #

    how cute are you?!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monthly Review // April ’10 « questionable rationale - May 2, 2010

    […] went and saw Third Eye Blind. Again. – We went to the opening game of our local baseball team. – I worked. A lot. – I registered for a summer class and for three classes in the fall. – I ran my fastest […]

Leave a Reply

