Roller Derby, Baseball, and thinking I don’t like sports

26 Apr

I didn’t grow up in a sports friendly household. We never parked ourselves in front of the TV to watch any big game. In fact, for a few years in there, we didn’t even have a TV. I didn’t play sports in middle school, or high school or ever, really. I don’t know the rules for baseball or basketball or football or even dodgeball. I once or twice went to some football games in high school, mostly because there was nothing else to do. When Andrew and my roommate played softball in Kosovo, I went to a few games.

Then, last year, Andrew took me to a local hockey game. And I was hooked.

See, I like yelling. And drinking. Especially in public. And, lo and behold, yelling and drinking and hockey all go together in a nice little package of excellent.

So hockey. We went every chance we could. I listened to the other people yelling in order to determine what things I could yell. I didn’t know I liked sports. I’d always claimed to not care about sports, or to not be interested in sports, and yet there I was, anxiously anticipating hockey games.

Then Richmond lost its hockey team. And it’s local baseball team. So we had nothing. It was a mighty boring year.

A few weeks ago, baseball came back to Richmond. Our team, the Flying Squirrels, plays at the Diamond, about 3 minutes from my house. It’s too easy. We got tickets for the sold-out opening night game and, lo and behold, more yelling and more drinking in public. Apparently, I like baseball too.

Then, on Saturday, there was roller derby. It was mixed crowd – some hippies, some families, some punks, some teenagers, and my group of porch-sitting hooligans. I’m not quite sure how to explain it. I didn’t understand it. At all. There’s roller skates, and beer, and shorty short shorts, and bruises, and drag queen cheerleaders singing Lady Gaga. That’s about as far as I got. I was chatting and talking and drinking my beer and yelling only when everyone else did. It was neat, I think.

In the end, I’ve learned I really do like sports. Or at least attending sporting events that allow me to drink beer and yell in public. I don’t think I’m going to run out and join any local sporting teams because I don’t like physical activity that isn’t running or killing my abs with planks and crunches and I’m really not much of a team player, but if there’s beer and yelling involved? And it’s cheap? I’m totally there.

2 Responses to “Roller Derby, Baseball, and thinking I don’t like sports”

  1. andrew May 3, 2010 at 7:12 AM #

    Great photos! Did you get a new camera?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monthly Review // April ’10 « questionable rationale - May 2, 2010

    […] our family and got another HuskyMutt. – I spent a lot of time thinking about Alaska. – We went to a Roller Derby match. – Things were different. – We went camping. There were smores. It was […]

Leave a Reply

