Crossing things off, getting ready & making adjustments

10 May

My weekend was full. Equal parts busy and lazy, it was a perfect combination.

Saturday, I met this fellow Richmond 20-something blogger at the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. She’d left a comment last week asking if I was attending the race and, while I hadn’t planned on it (mostly because I hadn’t sought out the information), I figured supporting the boobies is always a good thing. I’ve been slowly getting back into running lately and, run a 5k is on my list so, ultimately, I had no good reason not to.

For the record, five kilometers  is more than I’ve run outside, on the road, in a very long time. Somehow I morphed from someone who used to be afraid of treadmills to someone who runs almost exclusively on treadmills. And you know what? Running on the treadmill is not the same thing. Not even a little bit.

I finished the race in 37 minutes. I walked a little bit. Since there were about a million people (slight exaggeration) running the race, we didn’t even cross the start line until 5 minutes in. My goal was to run faster than 30 minutes, and while I didn’t do that, I think I would have come close had there not been herds of walkers and strollers in front of me for the first half mile.   

After well-deserved naps and some shopping, Saturday night came. We managed to get our whole (absolutely crazy) group of friends together for a birthday celebration and it was nice. It was good. Necessary. It’s been far too long since we’ve had everyone together all at once and I’d forgotten how nice it is.

We’ve changed, as group. Things have shifted, relationships have changed, like they always do, I guess. We started as a group that spent nearly every free second together and I’ve struggled some with losing that. We’re still close, but it’s different. I can’t decide if it’s good different or not. I like my free time too. I like spending the occasional Friday night parked on the couch with my husband and HuskyMutts with no obligations. But, I like being social too. I guess, like with everything else, I just need to search for a better balance that satisfies me.

Sunday, I studied. And napped. Andrew went and got me ice cream and we snuggled. We tried on all the clothes we’ll be wearing to cruise ship dinners and packed. It was a perfect lazy Sunday.

8 Responses to “Crossing things off, getting ready & making adjustments”

  1. Margaret May 10, 2010 at 10:41 AM #

    It wasn’t lazy!! It was relaxing.

  2. StaceyParadise May 10, 2010 at 10:51 AM #

    I absolutely loved meeting you! It really made my day! 🙂 It’s funny how you can meet someone you’ve only read and followed along on the internet and not have it be weird at all. I can’t wait for us all to get together again soon. I think outdoor restaurant, patio, beers for the boys, wine for us. 🙂 We’ll share husky stories!

    • Terra May 11, 2010 at 9:18 AM #

      Sounds perfect! Can’t wait!

  3. ChickNamedHermia May 10, 2010 at 4:47 PM #

    It always makes me sad to think of the groups of friends I’ve had that have drifted apart!
    Sounded like a good weekend though!

  4. CuppyCakes May 11, 2010 at 7:17 AM #

    naps! i love naps!

  5. LiLu May 11, 2010 at 10:33 AM #

    It sounds like the perfect weekend of balance, truly. 🙂

  6. H to the Izzo May 12, 2010 at 4:56 PM #

    I had a lot of fun at the BBQ and was sad to have to leave so early. I hope you guys invite me again. It’s interesting to hear you talk about a shift in the friend dynamic because as an outsider looking in, you guys seem really close and I’m a little sad I don’t have a real group like that. I guess relationships are always in flux, eh?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Month in the Rearview // May ’10 « questionable rationale - June 3, 2010

    […] I ran my first 5k. – I met a blogger. – We continued to adjust to being a family with two HuskyMutts. – I went to […]

Leave a Reply

