Newness.

18 Jun

 

Life with two dogs is different. A lot different. We were expecting more fur and more expense when we adopted our second HuskyMutt, Luke, but we didn’t expect it to totally change the dynamics of our previously one-dog household. But it has. Having two dogs is still very, very new and living with two big dogs is something I haven’t experience since high school.

Each day, we all get to know each other a little better. Luke and Sadie continue to develop a relationship with each play session and with each passing day and we all get to know Luke a little bit better. His personality is finally starting to become a bit more apparent and I’m falling more and more in love with the dog he’s becoming.

Last year, which our first year in this little house of ours, we planted a garden. One of the first things to go in was a peach tree that is not covered in peaches. It’s little branches can handly stand the weight of the fruit and I’m anxiously looking forward to the day when I can enjoy a fresh picked peach from my own back yard.

We took it easy last year in terms of plant diversity. We did the tomato thing and the pepper thing and planted a few herbs but we kicked it up a knotch this year. Along with tomatoes and peppers, we’ve got a zucchini vine that has already yielded a GIANT zucchini, a watermelon vine, a few strawberry plants, a blackberry bush and a raspberry bush plus a few more herbs for cooking like oregano and chives and parsley.

There are few things better than harvesting a few crops from my own back yard and enjoying them the same day.

We’ve talked about extending the deck since we bought our house. We went over a million options in our mind and, with guests coming and a 4th of July party to host, we finally made a decision and had a new deck built. Our old deck was just 10 ft. by 10 ft. and wasn’t even big enough to put a table. The new deck is 20 ft. by 14 ft. and is more than big enough for a table, a grill, and whatever else we find to put on it.

I signed us up to get fresh, local produce delivered to my front porch every two weeks from a local company and, two weeks ago, we got our first box. It contained asperagus (the best I’ve ever had), arugala, lavendar, fava beans, squash, feta goat cheese, fresh eggs, mustard greens and probably some other things I’ve forgotten. Getting the box, which contains things I can’t control, has made me think outside the box (ha!) when coming up with dinner each night. It’s fun to try new things and experiment more instead of always following a recipe. Mustard greens, as it turns out, taste like mustard and a bit like horseradish sauce.

Right after a super busy weekend earlier this month, I decided to uninstall the sink and vanity in our downstairs bathroom and paint stripes on the walls. I’d been talking about it for months. I’d bought paint back in November. And yet, we hadn’t done anything. I correctly assumed removing the sink and making an absolute diaster out of our downstairs bedroom and bathroom would force me to buckle down and get the job done. Sure enough, last night I reinstalled the vanity and the sink, scrubbed the floors, installed a medicine cabinet and finished the collage I’ve been working on for the past two weeks. Next week I’ll share some photos of the finished product because, while it’s so, so me and I’m so, so proud of myself for all the work that went into that little bathroom.

Happy Friday!!

10 Responses to “Newness.”

  1. Margaret June 18, 2010 at 4:41 PM #

    Wonderful Post – Gardening Tills the Soul – Great deck – Fresh food !!

    You’re a good Tool Lady 🙂

  2. Ash June 18, 2010 at 8:54 PM #

    I have so many things to say, but for now, I just want to say one thing:

    I’m so proud of the woman you’ve become, Terra.

    – Mom

  3. CuppyCakes June 19, 2010 at 3:58 AM #

    I pretty much ADORE that dog. He’s so handsome! I love discovering their personalities.. hehehe.

  4. Aly June 19, 2010 at 4:09 AM #

    His eyes are amazing! Wow!

    I love how much newness you have going on at one time. No wonder June is so crazy – you’re a machine! 🙂

  5. Emilie June 19, 2010 at 10:24 AM #

    Luke is SO handsome!

    I can’t wait to see the bathroom photos!

  6. san June 19, 2010 at 12:45 PM #

    I am so jealous of your garden, I don’t even have a patio where I could put a tomato plant *sigh.
    But this fresh produce delivery sounds GREAT. I need to see if we have something like that in our area.

  7. Margaret June 19, 2010 at 1:18 PM #

    Great hostess, re: twitter photo – Beautiful set out.

  8. H to the Izzo June 21, 2010 at 8:30 AM #

    Wait, you have a watermelon vine, AND a blackberry and raspberry bush? Those are 3 of my favorite things! How’d I miss that?! I picked blackberries off of Stephen’s backyard bush yesterday and told him I’m going to uproot some of it and the honeysuckle and see if I can re-plant it on my balcony.

    Where’s the photos of me cuddling with the huskymutt? No one will believe you without photos 🙂

    Also, I have updates to share with you, I may call this evening.

  9. ChickNamedHermia June 21, 2010 at 9:43 AM #

    I’m not much of a gardener but I’d love to have a peach tree!!!!!!

    And Luke is gorgeous…I just love his eyes!

  10. titus2woman June 29, 2010 at 6:29 AM #

    Watermelon is my very.favorite.food.evah. WHY haven’t I planted any? Your garden sounds AMAZING!!! Mine is still very smallish, but it’s gonna grow and grow and grow each year…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

