This is where we potty. It used to look ugly, now it doesn’t. Hooray!

23 Jun

About two weeks after we went on our Super Vacation of Pure Awesome, I realized it was summer and that we’d be having guests coming to visit in just a few short months and that I STILL hadn’t painted the bathroom like I’ve been talking about doing since November. So, once I got off work, I marched into the bathroom and started uninstalling the sink. Because, clearly, we didn’t have a moment to waste and that shit needed to get done pronto.

Before I made a huge mess and dabbled in plumbing for the first time in my entire life, the bathroom looking like this:

It was very beige.

I had declared my love of stripes in bathrooms months ago and, somehow, I manged to convince Andrew it wasn’t a no-good bad idea so, I uninstalled the sink and vanity. Which was neat. And surprisingly easy. Plumbing? Not as difficult as one might think. Then, after I’d sanded the walls bit and painted both the walls and the ceiling a slightly purple white color, I started with the taping. And so it went. For days.

Taping involves measuring. Measuring involves math. I hate math.

But then, once I had taped and cursed the walls and bungled the math a few times and cursed the walls to hell and back, it was time to paint.

Painting went quickly. We did two coats to ensure an even coat because I was terrified of removing the tape only to find I would have to put it back up again to fix a few little errors.

That face? That is the face of pure stressed-out beyond all beliefness because there came a time, somewhere in the midst of all this bathroom bullshit, that I became convinced we were never, ever, ever going to get it all done before Christmas.

But, we did. We removed the tape, rejoiced at how WONDERFUL it all looked and then fell, exhausted onto the couch and ignored the bathroom for a few days. There was still so much to do! Sure, the stripes were done but I had to paint the trim and I had to put the vanity and sink back in and I had to install the medicine cabinet and I was tired. Real tired.

Somehow, I gathered up some motivation and painted the trim. Which made a HUGE difference in the overall fabuousness of the room. While Andrew was at class I picked up the vanity (ALL BY MYSELF) and reinstalled it. AND THEN, I picked up the sink (ALL BY MYSELF) and reinstalled it. Then, because I was slightly drunk off the fumes of accomplishment and lingering paint, I installed the medicine cabinet. ALL BY MYSELF.

By the time Andrew came home from school it was done, and now it looks like this:

I consider it a massive improvement over the beige.

See the vanity and the sink? Yeah. I put those back in there.

The collage is Richmond-inspired. I made it. I broke the glass for the frame right after we brought it home so there’s no glass in the frame but there will be the next time I can get myself back to Ikea.

And the orchid. It was $12 from our local Kroger grocery store and is the second one we’d purchased. The first one is (amazingly) still very alive and thriving in our living room.

So, what do you think?

18 Responses to “This is where we potty. It used to look ugly, now it doesn’t. Hooray!”

  1. H to the Izzo June 23, 2010 at 3:51 PM #

    I might have to get me one of those $12 orchids, though I do tend to kill plants.

    • Terra June 23, 2010 at 6:46 PM #

      They are SO easy! You just feed them 3 ice cubes once a week and put them someplace where they get a little sun.

  2. Mermanda June 23, 2010 at 4:00 PM #

    Looks great! I am wayyy tooo OCD for attempting those stripes. If one was crooked, I would fixate on it forever. But it looks like you pulled it off! Fabulous.

    • Terra June 23, 2010 at 6:45 PM #

      I was SO afraid of all the lines coming out all crooked and messed up – luckily they didn’t and my OCD didn’t explode!

  3. Margaret June 23, 2010 at 6:53 PM #

    Beautiful !! Great colors and art work. You are an awesome tool-lady

  4. Aly June 24, 2010 at 3:19 AM #

    You are a machine. It looks FANTASTIC! I’m actually loving the stripes and storing this away for future relevance… 😉

  5. CuppyCakes June 24, 2010 at 4:57 AM #

    ooo pretty!
    I like it a lot!!!

  6. ChickNamedHermia June 24, 2010 at 4:58 AM #

    It looks amazing, Terra! I love the stripes, but I dunno if I’d have the patience!!!

  7. Stacey Paradise June 24, 2010 at 8:03 AM #

    I LOVE IT!

    I forgot to tell you last night that I’ve been playing with ideas for both of our bathrooms in my head, and stripes were a front-runner. I’m scared because I feel like it would be tough. But your bathroom looks so great that I kind of want to do stripes in my guest bathroom now!

    Did you use particular measurements or any sites with a how-to to figure it out?

    • Terra June 25, 2010 at 10:49 AM #

      The stripes are each 7 inches, expect for the last few I did near the toilet where my math was a little off and they had to be 7 1/4 inches. I would recommend measuring out the walls and making sure the width you want your stripes to be is a figure divisible by the total wall space. Also, younghouselove.com did their bathroom with horizontal stripes and they’ve got a whole how-to about it that I looked at a little bit.

  8. Stacey Paradise June 24, 2010 at 8:04 AM #

    Also? I’m pretty sure we have the same shower curtain. Yep.

    Great minds think alike!

  9. Lara June 24, 2010 at 12:06 PM #

    You did such a great job! Love love love!

  10. Emilie June 24, 2010 at 6:41 PM #

    It looks AMAZING!

  11. Kt June 25, 2010 at 8:48 PM #

    I love the stripes! It looks like a professional did it!

  12. Ash June 27, 2010 at 1:52 PM #

    Awesome!

    You really do love to paint, and you’re so good at it, you could have a new & budding career out there if you ever needed it (which I don’t expect you will).

    Very impressed with your plumbing & handyman skills – great job with the vanity, etc. What did Andrew think when he got home & saw you did it by yourself? You know, you’re remarkably like me in your “I can do it myself-ness,” though I usually manage to drop a sheet of plywood on my foot or something & it tends not to turn out so well…

    Do you remember when Kerry & I changed the engine on the Subaru? Labeled everything with masking tape, except the oil dissolved the sharpie & we had to get a manual to figure it out… but it ran!

  13. andrew June 28, 2010 at 5:37 PM #

    A-Mazing! You are so awesome!

  14. titus2woman June 29, 2010 at 6:25 AM #

    WOW. No words~just WOW! LOVE IT! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  15. kelliebuelo July 3, 2010 at 3:50 PM #

    looks fantastic! i love the stripes, and the pops of color. tasteful AND funky. love love. good job!

Leave a Reply

