Some Swedes, a summertime affair & feeling hot, hot, hot

7 Jul

The Swedes are here! And they’ve been here, and by here I mean at my house, since the early morning hours of Thursday. R is Andrew’s best friend and his wife, H, is Swedish and pregnant and so they both live very far away in the land of meatballs and blondes. We miss them lots and lots and hadn’t seen them since they tied the knot in North Carolina last year.

Anyway. Having house guests means you’re busy and that you eat a lot of food that is very bad and absolutely no good for you, but it’s also sort of like being on vacation in your own home so it’s totally okay. Especially when it’s a long weekend full of  celebrating America and friends you haven’t seen in way too damn long.

Thursday night, we shoved a can of beer up a chicken’s ass and grilled the little fucker for a few hours because what else says “Welcome to America” like beer, chicken and my hot-ass husband in an apron? Nothing. That’s what.

Friday we shopped. And then, exhausted from the sun and the heat and the walking, we stopped for a late lunch.

There’s something about a bright blue margarita and a heaping plate of nachos that just seems to scream “SUMMER IS HERE! LET’S GET DRUNK AND THEN GET (a little) NAKED!”

Saturday I got real efficient and all logical-like and baked an apple pie entirely from scratch and some cupcakes entirely from a box. I proved, yet again, that I’m 50% badass baker, and 50% lazy-butt. Either way, I got my baking done before our party on Sunday and managed to chill the fuck out for a few precious seconds.

Saturday night we went to see our local baseball team, the Flying Squirrels. They lost horribly 6-0.

If it hadn’t been for the fireworks after the game my motivation to celebrate America would have been a little bit defeated.

After the game we went to a British-style pub, where we drank non-American beers and rang in Independence Day. Then there was some drama and I remembered all over again why I don’t have many girl friends. Girls are ridiculous.

Sunday we partied. We cooked an absurd amount of food for a big group of our friends, about 14 total. Despite our fears, we really did have enough food to feed everyone. In fact, I STILL have a fridge full of food. Let me know if you want any leftover pasta salad.

We walked up the road to watch fireworks and everyone bitched and moaned about how long it was taking and I realized what a bunch of bitches my friends are. I love them anyway, though, even if they have no patience.

Once we got back to our house, we damn near lit the neighborhood on fire with a bunch of fireworks we’d gotten. It was pretty impressive but the smoke – it was damn near suffocating.

I went to bed exhausted and mostly sober. Playing hostess takes a lot out of me.

Monday I napped. And studied. And recuperated. And picnicked at the river with the Swedes.

It was beautiful and perfect and, with the Swedes leaving today, I’m more than a little sad. It’s bee n a fun and very full few days and while I’m looking forward to having the house back to myself, I’m really going to miss our guests. They’re good people and we really don’t see them enough.

I think we’re just going to have to organize a trip to Sweden sometime soon….

5 Responses to “Some Swedes, a summertime affair & feeling hot, hot, hot”

  1. Emilie July 7, 2010 at 6:58 AM #

    Looks like a fun weekend! That pie looks amazing!

    I have family coming to visit from Sweden soon, can’t wait!

  2. Stacey Paradise July 7, 2010 at 8:09 AM #

    That picture of you and Andrew is super cute. 🙂

    The apple pie pic just made me hungry! I’m glad you had a great weekend.

  3. Aly July 7, 2010 at 1:17 PM #

    I love those pics – the picnic looked awesome. And also, please share the apple pie, mmk?

  4. H to the Izzo July 7, 2010 at 2:47 PM #

    I ate all the food you sent me home with. Am I allowed to have more?

  5. ChickNamedHermia July 7, 2010 at 2:56 PM #

    Lol, I love having house guests but I can never wait for them to leave once they get there….I like my space to be mine!

Leave a Reply

