Holy Burrito of Goodness

5 Aug

Fact: I’m damn good at throwing together a pasta dish. Give me some noodles, some stewed tomatoes, some vegetables, a dash of this and that and I’ll give you a god damn masterpiece of deliciousness.

My cooking prowess occasionally extends beyond pasta into the realm of chocolate chip cookies and mashed potatoes and that’s about it. That’s where my talent ends. Yes, I can make edible dinners. I can make a hoard of dishes that are good, but few that are brilliant and that tickle the taste buds of both myself and my not very picky at all husband.

Last night, I got courageous. We had peppers and onions and half a monster zucchini sitting the fridge. I’d been wanting to make a good vegetable burrito or taco thing for weeks. In fact, I tried it a few weeks ago and ended up with a big fat fucking dud the husband said he liked, but that I could barely stomach.

Last night, I tried again. In lieu of a recipe, I relied on hope and gut instinct. I threw things into a pan, and hoped for the best. I was nervous. Scared. Anxious.

The first bite was cryptic. Too much tortilla, not enough of the burrito filling. The second bite? Divine. Perfect. Damn delicious.  

Super Wicked Awesome Vegetable Burritos – Makes 4 damn good burritos

You’ll Need:
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salsa
1 small tomato, diced
A few leaves of lettuce, sliced thin
Cheese
A cup or so of frozen corn
1 can black beans
4 Tortillas
Salt & Pepper
A sprinkle of parsley, fresh or dried
A sprinkle of chili powder
1 small onion, roughly chopped
1 zucchini, sliced thin and quartered
1 small yellow squash, sliced thin and quartered
1 small bell pepper, roughly chopped

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet. Add the salt, pepper, chili powder, and parsley. Add the onion, zucchini, squash and bell pepper, stirring so everything gets coated in delicious flavor and cook about 4 minutes, or until the vegetables are just barely tender. Throw the corn and black beans into the pan, mix well and cook until everything is heated through with delicious goodness.

Put a tortilla on a plate. Spoon 1/4 of the vegetable mix into the center. Top with cheese first, then add lettuce, tomatoes and salsa. It should look like this:

Fold it up, and enjoy with a cold beer. Or two.

Lesson the day: Zucchini in a burrito is the best idea ever.

5 Responses to “Holy Burrito of Goodness”

  1. KT August 5, 2010 at 10:05 AM #

    I just had a shrimp burrito for dinner last night! Basically the same recipe except my husband grilled shrimp and stuck it in. Delish!

  2. Ash August 5, 2010 at 12:29 PM #

    Ooo… sounds & looks delightful!
    Thanks for passing on the recipe – I’ll see my chef (your sister) gets it!

    (I think she’ll wrinkle her nose at the squash & zukes, but maybe I could get her to make it just once, or with eggplant! Love eggplant!)

    Oh, and I love the title of this post!

  3. kellie August 5, 2010 at 9:43 PM #

    fanTASTIC idea, yum! i am totally trying this.

  4. ChickNamedHermia August 6, 2010 at 3:07 AM #

    Awh congrats, but I need meat in my Mexican dishes! I have perfected a great veggie bolognese which I’m very proud of though!

  5. Lara August 8, 2010 at 6:20 PM #

    That looks silly good! I once had a quesadilla w/ seasoned potatoes in it and I can’t stop thinking about it! I think I’ll try your recipe and add some!

Leave a Reply

