Five reasons this just might have been the best weekend of summer

9 Aug

1. Laughing so hard with new friends that my abs start hurting. The internet rocks the hardest when it brings hilarious, down to Earth people into your life that you can enjoy beers with. True story. On Friday, Andrew and I dined with StaceyParadise & Co. at Legend Brewing Company, a local Richmond brewery with the best view in the city. I shit you not, after the rain drove us inside the restaurant, I seriously laughed so hard that my abs started hurting. Laughing that hard is absolutely the best way to start a great weekend.

2. Torturing the dogs with baths after they’d woken us up early by licking our toes and clicking their little dog claws on the hardwood floors. We usually wash the dogs in the bathtub. I’m not sure why. It’s a stupid plan and it always results in yelling and requires us to towel off the walls. So Saturday we took the dogs outside, sprayed them with the water hose, laughed our asses off at their sad little dog faces, lathered them up, rinsed them off and let them shake off outside. It was a success. There was much less yelling.

3. Showing off my city to an awesome old friend and her husband. Alverna came to visit last year on her way down to the beaches of North Carolina. It was a quick trip and she didn’t get a chance to see much of the city. This time around, she had a bit more time so Andrew and I played tour guide and showed off this city of ours. We drove around, hitting all sorts of historic spots and showed off our most famous cemetery, Hollywood, where 18,000 Confederate dead are buried.

4. Margaritas so delicious that I just had to have two. Tequila is a good, good, good thing.

5. Free popcorn that tasted even better because it was free. There’s this gas station Andrew and I always stop at to get gas on the way home from Army adventures that sells little boxes of fresh popcorn for 50¢. I walked up to pay for it on Sunday and the cashier told me to just take it, free of charge.

10 Responses to “Five reasons this just might have been the best weekend of summer”

  1. Aly @ Breathe Gently August 9, 2010 at 8:13 AM #

    Free popcorn and margheritas? You had me right there.

    That is such a great picture of you too. Yay for the happy!

  2. Stacey August 9, 2010 at 9:32 AM #

    Friday was so much fun! We absolutely MUST do that again!

    That puppy picture is THE cutest thing! God do our dogs EVER need baths, as well! Cookie is so tiny I can bathe her in the sink with no problem…but Demon – well he absolutely MUST be bathed outside! All that hair!

  3. Ash August 9, 2010 at 2:11 PM #

    Poor Lucas! As sad a dog face as I’ve ever seen!

    Rhiannon washed Kasha this past week – two lathers, she was so dirty! I have an old vinal shower liner I throw over the sink & stuff so not too much disaster.

    And that third photo is awesome! Is that an old chimney, monument? Love your perspective!

    • Terra August 13, 2010 at 10:34 AM #

      The third picture is a 90 ft. Richmond granite pyramid monument. It’s dedicated to the 18,000 Confederate Soldiers buried at Hollywood Cemetary here in Richmond.

  4. ChickNamedHermia August 9, 2010 at 2:48 PM #

    That really does sounds like a fab weekend! Colour me jealous!

  5. Lara August 9, 2010 at 9:15 PM #

    Yay!
    Isn’t Hollywood Cemetery one of the best places ever? I had sneaked in there soooo many times at night until I heard it’s a Federal trespassing charge there. Yeah… maybe I’m getting a little to old for that?

    Was that at Nacho Mama’s? 😉

    • Terra August 13, 2010 at 10:34 AM #

      It was indeed at Nacho Mama’s – they’ve got the best margaritas in town as far as I’m concerned.

  6. CuppyCakes August 10, 2010 at 6:24 AM #

    I WANT FREE POPCORN!!
    I can think of very little things that are more fabulous than free popcorn.

  7. Cristina August 10, 2010 at 5:15 PM #

    Washing dogs outside is so superior to washing them in the bathtub. I always forget how much of a mess it makes, how how badly my back aches afterwards!

    Free popcorn. YES. Where can I get me some of that?

  8. Margaret August 10, 2010 at 7:29 PM #

    Women can be snippy, catty, nasty people to other women. They need to grow up.

Leave a Reply

