Because it’s Friday & I’m lazy: Shit I’m thinking about

13 Aug

– I’ve been in Fayetteville, North Carolina all week. I was there for work, with Andrew. I’m glad to be back home. 

– There’s nothing but bread and two shriveled baby eggplants in the fridge.

– All my orchids are dying and I’m determined it’s because of an asshole orchid I bought at Trader Joe’s that probably had some horrible orchid disease that attacked and brutally murdered all the other orchids in the house.

– There are only 2 other orchids in the house.

– But still  DAMMIT! One of the other orchids has been around for a year now and I haven’t killed it and I’m PISSED AS HELL that some Trader Joe’s orchid that I invited into my house has killed everything.

– I have absolutely no idea what to make for dinner tonight.

– School starts in just a few weeks and I’m SUPER nervous about it for some reason. I’m ready to hit the books again, but the thought of taking three upper level classes while working full-time makes me shake a little in my flip-flops.

– Andrew and I just booked the third trip we’ll take between now and January. And that’s excluding the Ocean City trip coming up at the end of this month and the Outer Banks trip that will hopefully happen in October. I’m beyond excited.

– My tomato plants are not producing even a smidge as well as they did last year. I think the heat has stunted their production.

– In January, Andrew and I will celebrate our third wedding anniversary. I’m not at all sure where the time has gone.

What’s on your mind?

9 Responses to “Because it’s Friday & I’m lazy: Shit I’m thinking about”

  1. mindy maier August 13, 2010 at 12:36 PM #

    our two tomato plants have produced nada…zip…zilch!

    • Terra August 13, 2010 at 12:42 PM #

      That confirms it then – if I’m not the only one suffering from limited to no tomato production, the heat must be to blame!

  2. Stacey Paradise August 13, 2010 at 12:42 PM #

    Damn girl, care to share a vacation?!

    Happy Friday!

  3. Ash August 13, 2010 at 12:50 PM #

    So, where ya goin’ on all those trips?

    Sorry about the orchids – is the TJ’s villainous orchid still alive? Maybe they just missed you – talk to them, maybe play them some music… And no, I’m not joking – there have been studies that shows it helps!

  4. KT August 13, 2010 at 2:39 PM #

    I could be wrong, but I think that tomato plants LOVE the heat. They hate too much rain. Thus last year when it rained almost every day in the Northeast we did not get to enjoy even one heirloom tomato. This year (if we didn’t get attacked by the horned tomato worm) we would have had tons.

  5. Aly @ Breathe Gently August 14, 2010 at 4:14 AM #

    I fail at plant life. I don’t even try anymore. Good for you for even maintaining those few!

    And also.. yay holidays!

  6. Robyn August 14, 2010 at 6:05 PM #

    My tomato plants have not done too well… We don’t have enough time to water them. MY grandparents on the other hand… they have had bucket loads. But they have time to water them two or three times a day with some added tomato food stuff you put in the water, and they have them in a spot on the garden where they get sun all through the day. If you let them get too hot though, they turn to mush inside and you don’t get all the sweet pips.

    You should grow runner beans. Very easy and they grow like weeds. We get so many we eat them for about 6 months. I’m sick of them already.

  7. titus2woman August 14, 2010 at 10:06 PM #

    LOVE that pic of you down there! My tomatoes did nada as well. 😦 Would love to try my hand at an orchid but am kinda afeared… I can’t wait to read all about your adventures~WOOHOOO! ~smile~ (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  8. ChickNamedHermia August 16, 2010 at 6:11 AM #

    Shrivelled eggplant sandwiches sound nice…. 😛

Leave a Reply

