Archive | 8:12 PM

As it turns out, work rocks

14 Apr

So, about the new job. My first day was great. Like really great. And it went by so fast because I was kept so busy which really, is what I like. I’d rather be busy and have a lot to do than to be sitting on my ass all day not doing anything.

A few weeks ago I signed on with a temp agency figuring that I learned how to do administrative stuff while I was deployed to Kosovo, so why not do it for a living. I figured the temp thing would work well for me, and then, as my luck would have it, they had a company whose receptionist type person was leaving on maternity leave for a while and needed a replacement, and so I went and interviewed with the president of this mortgage company. And they loved me. Because I’m awesome. And so now I’m doing that, and by that, I mean administrative type stuff at a mortgage company which is actually really awesome and challenging and after only one day I feel like I’ve learned a lot. And the better news is that the person I’m replacing probably isn’t going to come back after she has her baby so that means it’s highly likely I’ll be hired on permanently. Which, um, means YAY!

Also, I now wear suits to work which feels weird to me and I’m definitely not good at this whole business dress type thing but I’m working on it. I feel so grown up. It’s a little ridiculous actually. Like, a part of me feels like I’m an impostor just waiting to be found out. As if someone will suddenly look at me and realize I’m just a kid dressed up in a suit and kick me out or something. But then I remind myself that I’m 24 (AHHHH) and grown up (or at least playing grown up, which seems a lot more likely).

Oh, and my dog is still awesome. She is, in fact, getting more and more awesome with every passing minute and I love her. Oh, and the vet said he thinks she’s closer to a year old and she weighed in at 36 pounds of beautiful doggieness (also, I love making words and hope to continue to do so for the rest of my life).

Nerves of anything but steel

14 Apr

First day of my new job is today.

I’m nervous, as usual.

Wish me luck!